

2021 National Cleanup Workshop Agenda

December 7-9, 2021 Hilton Alexandria Mark Center – Alexandria, VA

"Capitalizing on a New Era of Cleanup Success"

Hosted by the Energy Communities Alliance in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Energy and the Energy Facility Contractors Group

TUESDAY, DECEMBER 7, 2021		
4:00pm – 6:00pm	Registration Opens	
4:00pm – 7:00pm	Exhibits Open	
5:00pm – 7:00pm	Welcome Reception	

WEDNESDAY, DECEMBER 8, 2021	
7:00am – 8:00am	Registration and Continental Breakfast
	Welcome to the 7 th Annual Cleanup Workshop
8:00am – 8-15am	 Ron Woody, County Executive, Roane County, TN; Chair, Energy Communities Alliance (ECA) Michael Lempke, Chair, Energy Facility Contractors Group (EFCOG); President Huntington Ingalls Industries' Nuclear & Environmental Services Todd Shrader, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, DOE-EM
	Keynote Address: DOE Leadership Perspective
8:15am – 8:45am	Moderator: Ron Woody, County Executive, Roane County, TN; Chair, Energy Communities Alliance (ECA)
	Jennifer M. Granholm, U.S. Secretary of Energy David M. Turk, Deputy Secretary of Energy







	A New Era for EM Cleanup
8:45am – 9:15am	Moderator: Michael Lempke, Chair, Energy Facility Contractors Group (EFCOG); President Huntington Ingalls Industries' Nuclear & Environmental Services
	Ike White, Senior Advisor for the Office of Environmental Management (EM), DOE
	Nuclear Energy Opportunities at DOE Sites
9:15am – 9:45am	Moderator: Mayor Brent Gerry, West Richland, WA, Vice Chair, ECA
	Dr. Kathryn Huff, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy
9:45am – 10:00am	COFFEE BREAK
	The Next Phase of EM Success
	Moderator: Michael Nartker, Chief of Staff, DOE-EM
	Progress on Portsmouth D&D at Building 326 Joel Bradburne, Acting Manager, Portsmouth Paducah Project Office, DOE Greg Wilkett, Chief Operating Officer, FBP
	Oak Ridge Cleanup Moves to Y-12, ORNL Central Campus
10:00am - 12:00pm	Laura Wilkerson , acting Manager, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management, DOE-EM
·	Ken Rueter, President and CEO, UCOR, LLC
	A New Future for Savannah River National Laboratory Mike Budney, Manager, Savannah River Site Operations Office, DOE-EM Vahid Majidi, Director, Savannah River National Laboratory
	Infrastructure Upgrades Position WIPP for the Future Reinhard Knerr, Manager, Carlsbad Field Office, DOE-EM Sean Dunagan, President, Nuclear Waste Partnership
12:00pm – 1:00pm	LUNCH
	Path Forward for Energy and Environmental Justice
1:00pm – 1:20pm	Moderator: Jack Craig, Chief Operating Officer, Atkins Nuclear Secured
1.00pm 1.20pm	Shalanda Baker , Secretarial Advisor on Equity and Deputy Director for Energy Justice, DOE
	Roundtable: Partnering with DOE on Priority Issues – Environmental
	Justice, Cleanup Engagement and Clean Energy Production
	Moderator: Jack Craig, Chief Operating Officer, Atkins Nuclear Secured
1:20pm – 2:15pm	Kristen Ellis , Acting Director for Regulatory Intergovernmental and Stakeholder Engagement, DOE-EM
	JJ Chavez, Council Member, Carlsbad City Council; ECA Executive Board Member Jennifer Chandler, Councilwoman, Village of Piketon Seth Kirshenberg, Executive Director, ECA
2:15pm – 2:30pm	COFFEE BREAK







	EM Acquisition Plans and Schedule
	Moderator: Rick McLeod, Executive Director, SRS Community Reuse Organization
	Angela Watmore , Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Acquisition and Project Management, DOE-EM
	Roundtable: The Path Forward for End-State Contracting
0.00	Moderator: Rick McLeod, Executive Director, SRS Community Reuse Organization
2:30pm – 4:00pm	Dae Chung , Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Corporate Services, DOE-EM
	Jack Zimmerman, Director, Environmental Management Consolidated Business Center, DOE-EM
	Heatherly Dukes, President, Technical Services Group, BWX Technologies, Inc. Mark Whitney, President, Amentum Nuclear & Environment
	Karen Wiemelt, Senior Vice President and General Manager, Jacobs
	Dr. Susana Navarro-Valenti , President and CEO, Navarro Research and Engineering, Inc.
	Roundtable: Lessons Learned and Improving Project Performance
	Moderator: Martin Schneider, Energy Facility Contractors Group (EFCOG)
4:00pm – 5:00pm	Dae Chung, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Corporate Services, DOE-EM
	Tom Jouvanis, President, Atkins Nuclear Secured
	Greg Meyer, Senior Vice President, Fluor
	Michael Lempke, President Huntington Ingalls Industries' Nuclear & Environmental Services
	Peggy McCullough, General Manager, Nuclear Security & Operations and
	Environmental, Bechtel
	David Campbell , Senior Vice President Corporate Strategy and Growth, Veolia Nuclea Solutions-Federal Services
5:00pm	ADJOURN

THURSDAY, DECEMBER 9, 2021		
7:00am – 8:00am	Registration and Continental Breakfast	
8:00am – 8-30am	Legislative Challenges and Opportunities for the EM Program	
	Moderator: Ron Woody, County Executive, Roane County, TN; Chair, Energy Communities Alliance (ECA) Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.), Chairman, House Nuclear Cleanup Caucus	
8:30am – 9:30am	Roundtable: The Future of Disposal	
	Moderator: Christine Gelles, Senior Vice President for Operations, Longenecker & Associates	
	 Doug Tonkay, DOE-EM David Carlson, President & COO, Waste Control Specialist LLC Kara Colton, Director of Nuclear Policy, ECA Scott Dempsey, Sr. Vice President of Business Development, EnergySolutions Jay Mullis, acting Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regulatory and Policy Affairs, DOE-EM Ken Rueter, President and CEO, UCOR, LLC 	







9:30am – 10:00am	COFFEE BREAK
10:00am – 11:00am	The Future of the EM Workforce
	Moderator: Kristen Ellis , Acting Director for Regulatory Intergovernmental and Stakeholder Engagement, DOE-EM
	Rebecca Casper, Mayor, City of Idaho Falls, ID Mary U. Kruger, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Resource Management (EM5.1) Office of Environmental Management, DOE
	Dennis Carr , Executive Vice President & COO, Savannah River Nuclear Solutions Kim Lebak , President, N3B Los Alamos
	Roundtable: DOE Field Office Managers
	Moderator: Ron Woody, County Executive, Roane County, TN; Chair, Energy Communities Alliance (ECA)
11:00am – 12:00pm	Laura Wilkerson , acting Manager, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management, DOE-EM
11.00dm = 12.00pm	Joel Bradburne, Acting Manager, Portsmouth Paducah Project Office Reinhard Knerr, Carlsbad Field Office, DOE
	Michael Budney, Manager, Savannah River Site Operations Office, DOE-EM Jack Zimmerman, Director, Environmental Management Consolidated Business Center, DOE-EM
	Michael Mikolanis, Manager of the Environmental Management Los Alamos Field Office, DOE-EM
12:00pm – 1:00pm	LUNCH
	Place-Based Initiatives at DOE
1:00pm – 1:30pm	Moderator: Seth Kirshenberg, Executive Director, ECA
	Kate Gordon, Senior Advisor to Energy Secretary, DOE
1:30pm – 2:30pm	Entering a New Era for Hanford Tank Waste
	Brian Vance, Manager, Office of River Protection/Richland Operations Office John Eschenberg, President, Washington River Protection Solutions Val McCain, Project Manager, Bechtel-WTP Scott Sax, President, Central Plateau Cleanup Company
	Bob Wilkinson, President, Hanford Mission Integration Solutions (HMIS), LLC David Reeploeg, Executive Director, Hanford Communities
2:30pm	ADJOURN





